You are logged in. Log out
Need help? Click here or call 0808 80 10 800


The Welsh Women’s Aid National Quality Service Standards (NQSS) form a set of accredited criteria against which dedicated specialist services addressing domestic abuse can evidence their quality of provision.

Embodying principles of participation, transparent governance and needs-led service delivery, they set out the nature and standard of service provision necessary to enable service users of domestic abuse service to cope with and recover from their experiences of abuse. The NQSS provide a framework for specialist domestic abuse services to evidence their quality and efficacy to stakeholders and service users.

They are in line with the Violence against Women, Domestic Abuse and Sexual Violence (Wales) Act 2015 statutory guidance being developed as well as being mapped to the national training framework requirements. They also take into account non-devolved strategic approaches from the Home Office and Ministry of Justice as well as EU and internationally recognised standards for preventative, protective and supportive service provision.

Download the NQSS Introductory Document (PDF – 0.5mb)

The following services have achieved a full pass:

  • Cyfannol Women’s Aid
  • WWA direct services (Wrexham and Colwyn)

The following services have achieved a conditional pass:

  • Montgomeryshire Family Crisis Centre
  • Swansea Women’s Aid
  • West Wales Domestic Abuse Service
  • Women’s Aid RCT
  • Port Talbot and Afan Women’s Aid
  • Cardiff Women’s Aid
  • Newport Women’s Aid

For more information about the standards, or to apply, email

What does a trauma informed response for women with multiple disadvantages mean? Find out at our seminar on 30 Nov…

About 2 days ago from WelshWomensAid's Twitter